Monday, 17 December 2018 09:23

AIIA appoints seven board members, state council chairs

AIIA appoints seven board members, state council chairs Pixabay

The Australian Information Industry Association has appointed seven new members to its board and also announced the chairpersons for the organisation's state councils.

In a statement, AIIA chairman John Paitaridis said: “Our invigorated AIIA national board and our state councils embody the diversity of the Australian digital economy, including large Australian companies, multinationals and small and medium sized businesses."

The new board members are: Megan James (chief executive, Australian Data Centres); David La Rose (managing director, IBM Australia & NZ); Sharryn Napier (vice-president and regional director Australia & NZ, Qlik); Angela Fox (managing director, Dell Australia & NZ); John Ieraci (chief customer officer, Telstra Enterprise); and Matt Codrington (managing director, Lenovo Australia & NZ).

Returning is Rob Hillard (chief strategy and innovation officer, Deloitte) as board deputy chair.

The seven join existing board members Charles Lindop, AIIA treasurer (principal, KTM Capital); Steven Worrall (managing director, Microsoft Australia); Stuart Althaus (chief executive, SME Gateway); Mark Nicholls (managing director, Information Professionals); Seelan Nayagam (managing director, DXC Technology Australia & NZ); Murray Hurps (director of Entrepreneurship at University of Technology, Sydney); and Ken Boal (vice-president, Cisco).

Directors have three-year terms and are responsible for setting the organisation's strategic direction and working with management to develop the National Business Plan and oversee operational excellence.

Said Paitaridis: “I am delighted with the composition of the new AIIA board. The members are all recognised leaders in the Australian technology industry, bringing together a vast range of skills, industry insights and experiences to support and inspire the AIIA to realise its vision of growing Australia’s social and economic prosperity through technology innovation.

“Our board aspires to improve advocacy and shape policy for the Australian ICT sector, generate new business opportunities, increase collaboration with other members, and build professional standing."

The state chairs for 2019 are:

  • Deirdre Diamante, VIC – M.I.A. Consulting Services
  • Greg Boorer, ACT – Canberra Data Centres
  • Sharon Brown, WA – Sharon Brown & Associates
  • Mark Nicholls, QLD – Information Professionals
  • Matt Wynn-Jones, NSW – Counterparts Technology
  • Tim Chopping, SA – SRA Information Technology


Australia is a cyber espionage hot spot.

As we automate, script and move to the cloud, more and more businesses are reliant on infrastructure that has high potential to be exposed to risk.

It only takes one awry email to expose an accounts payable process, and for cyber attackers to cost a business thousands of dollars.

In the free white paper ‘6 steps to improve your Business Cyber Security’ you will learn some simple steps you should be taking to prevent devastating malicious cyber attacks from destroying your business.

Cyber security can no longer be ignored, in this white paper you will learn:

· How does business security get breached?
· What can it cost to get it wrong?
· 6 actionable tips


Sam Varghese

website statistics

Sam Varghese has been writing for iTWire since 2006, a year after the site came into existence. For nearly a decade thereafter, he wrote mostly about free and open source software, based on his own use of this genre of software. Since May 2016, he has been writing across many areas of technology. He has been a journalist for nearly 40 years in India (Indian Express and Deccan Herald), the UAE (Khaleej Times) and Australia (Daily Commercial News (now defunct) and The Age). His personal blog is titled Irregular Expression.



Recent Comments