David Heath
Tuesday, 16 June 2009 17:28
Business IT -
Technology
According to reports, WikiLeaks has observed the site ProjectWhistleBlower to contain a verbatim copy of their site. They don’t seem impressed.
Digging further, WikiLeaks operators insist that
ProjectWhistleBlower, which redirects through a variety of anonymising sites (iTWire has seem chickenkiller.com, webhop.org, doesntexist.org and dnsalias.org amongst others), is operated by "former UK special forces;" their "current speculation is that they're trying to set up a private" intelligence business.
Searching Google seems to muddy the waters a little. There are hits which suggest that the copy from WikiLeaks is somewhat imperfect – while ProjectWhistleBlower has substituted their own name for WikiLeaks in most places amongst the articles duplicated, this is not always so.
The facebook
page is also very illuminating.
Australian readers might be amused to know that ProjectWhistleBlower includes a faithful rendition of the ACMA-sponsored "blacklist," ensuring multiple copies are well-preserved.
For the moment, iTWire is reserving judgement on ProjectWhistleBlower and is leaving opinion up to the reader.
More to follow.